CALGARY, AB – Spokane Chiefs forwards Mitch Holmberg and Mike Aviani, who scored a combined 100 goals this season, were named Western Conference All-Stars by the WHL today as the league prepares to kick off the 2014 Playoffs.

Holmberg, who led the league in goals (62) and points (118), earned 1st-Team Western Conference honors as one of three unanimous selections. His 62 goals marked just the 3rd time since the turn of the century that a WHL player had reached 60 or more in one season. His 147 career goals are the new franchise record as he passed long-time record holder Pat Falloon on March 14.

Mike Aviani scored career highs in goals and points, scoring 38 goals and 81 points in his fourth and final full season with the club. His 89 career goals puts him in a tie for 23rd in franchise history.

The Spokane Chiefs placed multiple players on the WHL All-Star Team for the first time since 2011, when four Chiefs (three 1st-Team, one 2nd-Team) earned the nomination.

Holmberg was also named the Western Conference’s nominee for the WHL’s Most Sportsmanlike Player Award, after being named the team’s Most Sportsmanlike Player in a pre-game ceremony on March 14. His regular season scoring title, finalized Sunday night, already earned him the WHL’s Bob Clarke Trophy.

The WHL Eastern and Western Conference All-Star Teams are as follows:


Goaltender – Tristan Jarry (Delta, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings
Defenceman – Josh Morrissey (Calgary, AB), Prince Albert Raiders
Defenceman – Ryan Pulock (Grandview, MB) Brandon Wheat Kings
Forward – Sam Reinhart (Vancouver, BC), Kootenay Ice *
Forward – Leon Draisaitl (Cologne, Germany), Prince Albert Raiders
Forward – Curtis Lazar (Vernon, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings

Goaltender – Patrik Bartosak (Koprivnice, CZR), Red Deer Rebels
Defenceman – Griffin Reinhart (West Vancouver, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings
Defenceman – Julius Honka (Jyvaskyla, Finland), Swift Current Broncos
Forward – Curtis Valk (Medicine Hat, AB), Medicine Hat Tigers
Forward – Jaedon Descheneau (Edmonton, AB), Kootenay Ice
Forward – Chandler Stephenson (Saskatoon, SK), Regina Pate


Goaltender – Jordon Cooke (Leduc, AB), Kelowna Rockets
Defenceman – Derrick Pouliot (Weyburn, SK), Portland Winterhawks
Defenceman – Shea Theodore (Aldergrove, BC), Seattle Thunderbirds
Forward – Nicolas Petan (Delta, BC), Portland Winterhawks *
Forward – Mitch Holmberg (Sherwood Park, AB), Spokane Chiefs *
Forward – Oliver Bjorkstrand (Herning, Denmark), Portland Winterhawks

Goaltender – Eric Comrie (Edmonton, AB), Tri-City Americans
Defenceman – Damon Severson (Melville, SK), Kelowna Rockets
Defenceman – Madison Bowey (Winnipeg, MB), Kelowna Rockets
Forward – Joshua Winquist (St. Albert, AB), Everett Silvertips
Forward – Todd Fiddler (Meadow Lake, SK), Prince George Cougars
Forward – Mike Aviani (North Vancouver, BC), Spokane Chiefs
* indicates unanimous selection

The WHL announced the 2014 Awards Finalists in the following categories:

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Nikita Scherbak (Moscow, Russia), Saskatoon Blades
Western Conference – Nick Merkley (Calgary, AB), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy
Eastern Conference – Tristan Jarry (Delta, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings
Western Conference – Jordon Cooke (Leduc, AB), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Josh Morrissey (Calgary, AB), Prince Albert Raiders
Western Conference – Derrick Pouliot (Weyburn, SK), Portland Winterhawk

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy
Eastern Conference – Sam Reinhart (Vancouver, BC), Kootenay Ice
Western Conference – Mitch Holmberg (Sherwood Park, AB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Nelson Nogier (Saskatoon, SK) Saskatoon Blades
Western Conference – Dominic Turgeon (Cherry Hills, CO) Portland Winterhawks

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Shaun Clouston, Medicine Hat Tigers
Western Conference – Dave Lowry, Victoria Royals

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Mike Moore, Calgary Hitmen
Western Conference – Cam Hope, Victoria Royals

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Sam Fioretti (Calgary, AB) Moose Jaw Warriors
Western Conference – Mitch Topping (Red Deer, AB) Tri City Americans

WHL Marketing / Business Award
Eastern Conference – Regina Pats
Western Conference – Seattle Thunderbirds

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy
Kelowna Rockets: GP – 72 W – 57 L – 11 OTL – 0 SL – 4 Pts. – 118

WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy
Mitch Holmberg (Sherwood Park, AB), Spokane Chiefs
GP – 72 G – 62 A – 56 Pts – 118 PIM – 25

More News
Weatherill Withstands Warriors For Wednesday Win
13 hours ago
PREVIEW: October 18, 2017 vs. Moose Jaw
1 day ago
Anderson-Dolan Named To Team WHL For Canada-Russia Series
2 days ago
Customize Your Chiefs Tickets With TAGD!
3 days ago
Third Period Turns Against Chiefs In Loss To Tri-City
5 days ago
PREVIEW: October 14, 2017 vs. Tri-City
5 days ago