Bear Hughes named Ken Rabel Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year

Spokane, Wash. — Spokane Chiefs captain Bear Hughes has been named the organization’s Ken Rabel Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year. Hughes, who recently signed a tryout agreement with the Hershey Bears of the American Hockey League, finished his 20-year-old season as the Chiefs’ leading scorer with 24 goals and 67 points.

The Chiefs’ recognition is named after Ken Rabel, a former security guard who manned the Chiefs’ bench going back to the team’s years in the Spokane Coliseum and became a friend to the players. Mr. Rabel always appreciated the players who would play the game in an honest and hard fashion.

In two full seasons as a Chief, Hughes scored 42 goals and dished out 74 assists for 116 points in 127 career games. The Washington Capitals selected the Post Falls, Idaho native in the fifth round of the 2020 NHL Entry Draft.

At the end of the season, the league awards the Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year with the Brad Hornung Trophy. Tyler Johnson is the last Chief to win the league honor, in 2011.

The Spokane Chiefs are a member of the U.S. Division of the Western Hockey League, the world’s finest development league for junior hockey players. Since 1985 the Chiefs have been a pillar in the Spokane community, offering family-friendly entertainment and a winning tradition which includes: two Memorial Cup Championships in 1991 & 2008, two WHL Championships in 1991 & 2008 and four Western Conference Championships in 1991, 1996, 2000 & 2008. Over 60 alumni have gone on to play in the National Hockey League.

More News
Hocktoberfest Theme Night
19 hours ago
Raegan Wiles named team captain for 2022-23 season
3 days ago
Chiefs battle back, but drop home opener to Kamloops 4-2
4 days ago
PREVIEW: Chiefs host Kamloops Blazers in home opener Saturday
5 days ago
Defenseman Logan Cunningham traded to Red Deer for conditional draft pick
7 days ago
San Jose Sharks return Mason Beaupit to Spokane
7 days ago