Smith Among CHL Award Finalists

WHL Network


Toronto, ON – The Canadian Hockey League has announced the nominees for the 10 major awards that will be presented at the annual CHL Awards Ceremony which takes place on Saturday, May 25 as part of the 2019 Memorial Cup presented by Kia festivities in Halifax. Spokane Chiefs’ defenseman Ty Smith is nominated for the top defenseman award.

Sherwin-Williams Top Prospect Award:
Bowen Byram (Vancouver Giants)
Arthur Kaliyev (Hamilton Bulldogs)
Raphael Lavoie (Halifax Mooseheads)

Most recent winner by league: Andrei Svechnikov (Barrie Colts 2018), Nolan Patrick (Brandon Wheat Kings 2017), Pierre-Luc Dubois (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles 2016).

Emera Top Scorer Award:
Joachim Blichfeld (Portland Winterhawks)
Jason Robertson (Niagara IceDogs)
Peter Abbandonato (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

Most recent winner by league: Jayden Halbgewachs (Moose Jaw Warriors 2018), Conor Garland (Moncton Wildcats 2016), Dylan Strome (Erie Otters 2015).

Bumper to Bumper Sportsman of the Year Award:
Justin Almeida (Moose Jaw Warriors)
Nick Suzuki (Guelph Storm)
Peter Abbandonato (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

Most recent winner by league: Aleksi Heponiemi (Swift Current Broncos 2018), Nick Suzuki (Owen Sound Attack 2017), Samuel Girard (Shawinigan Cataractes 2016).

Kia Humanitarian of the Year Award:
Will Warm (Edmonton Oil Kings)
Nicholas Canade (Mississauga Steelheads)
Charle-Edouard D’Astous (Rimouski Oceanic)

Most recent winner by league: Garrett McFadden (Guelph Storm 2018), Tyler Wong (Lethbridge Hurricanes 2017), Danick Martel (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada 2015).

CIBC Scholastic Player of the Year Award:
Dustin Wolf (Everett Silvertips)
Thomas Harley (Mississauga Steelheads)
Matthew Welsh (Charlottetown Islanders)

Most recent winner by league: Alexandre Alain (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada 2018), Sasha Chmelevski (Ottawa 67’s 2017), Josh Morrissey (Prince Albert Raiders 2013).

Sofina Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award:
Marc Habscheid (Prince Albert Raiders)
Andre Tourigny (Ottawa 67’s)
Mario Pouliot (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

Most recent winner by league: Drew Bannister (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds 2018), Gilles Bouchard (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies 2016), Jim Hiller (Tri-City Americans 2012).

Wawanesa Rookie of the Year Award:
Brayden Tracey (Moose Jaw Warriors)
Quinton Byfield (Sudbury Wolves)
Jordan Spence (Moncton Wildcats)

Most recent winner by league: Alexis Lafreniere (Rimouski Oceanic 2018), Alexander Nylander (Mississauga Steelheads 2016), Brett Connolly (Prince George Cougars 2009).

Vaughn Goaltender of the Year Award:
Ian Scott (Prince Albert Raiders)
Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen (Sudbury Wolves)
Samuel Harvey (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

Most recent winner by league: Carter Hart (Everett Silvertips 2018), Michael McNiven (Owen Sound Attack 2017), Philippe Desrosiers (Rimouski Oceanic 2015).

Superstore Defenceman of the Year Award:
Ty Smith (Spokane Chiefs)
Evan Bouchard (London Knights)
Charle-Edouard D’Astous (Rimouski Oceanic)

Most recent winner by league: Nicolas Hague (Mississauga Steelheads 2018), Thomas Chabot (Saint John Sea Dogs 2017), Ivan Provorov (Brandon Wheat Kings 2016).

Sportsnet Player of the Year Award:
Joachim Blichfeld (Portland Winterhawks)
Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen (Sudbury Wolves)
Alexis Lafreniere (Rimouski Oceanic)

Most recent winner by league: Alex Barre-Boulet (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada 2018), Alex DeBrincat (Erie Otters 2017), Brendan Shinnimin (Tri-City Americans 2012).

More News
Sward and Swetlikoff hope to hear their name called in NHL Entry Draft
1 day ago
Jack Finley invited to participate in National Men’s Junior Team Summer Development Camp
2 days ago
Chiefs sign German prospect Yannick Proske to WHL agreement
3 days ago
Chiefs sign import pick Tsimafei Kauharenia to WHL player agreement
1 week ago
Seattle Kraken to play franchise's first preseason game at Spokane Arena
2 weeks ago
Former Chief Tyler Johnson wins second-straight Stanley Cup
2 weeks ago