2019-20 Players’ Player: Eli Zummack

Watch more on Chiefs TV >

The Players’ Player is an award voted on by the players themselves, recognizing a Spokane Chief who exemplifies what it means to be a good teammate, leader on the ice and role model in all aspects. The Chiefs are pleased to announced that the 2019-20 Players’ Player award goes to forward Eli Zummack.

Zummack, in his fourth season as a Chief, ranked second on the team and tied for fifth in the WHL in scoring with 86 points. He was one of four Chiefs to hit the 20-goal milestone (22) and his 64 assists paced the entire league, two ahead of second-place Zane Franklin of Kamloops. It marks the most assists by a Chief in one season since Mitch Wahl put up 66 during the 2009-10 campaign, and second-most since Tim Smith’s 70 in 1999-00.

He picked up a career-best five helpers in the Chiefs’ penultimate game, a 6-3 win at Calgary. Two of his six game-winning goals came in overtime.

The Kelowna, B.C. product ranked seventh in the league in plus-minus (+42) despite being third on the Chiefs behind league-leader Noah King (+60) and Bob Clarke Trophy winner Adam Beckman (+44).

Zummack was a model of consistency, posting three point streaks of ten or more games, highlighted by a 17-gamer from Nov. 29 to Jan. 11. He was held off the scoresheet just 12 times all season, including points in 39 of the final 41 games. He finished the abbreviated regular season on a 10-game streak, with two goals and 19 assists.

Acquired by the Chiefs in a trade with the Red Deer Rebels in January 2016, Zummack has appeared in 233 regular season games as a Chief, ranking 45th in franchise history. His 156 career assists rank tied for 10th (Chad Klassen) and his 217 points rank 24th, just three behind former teammate Hudson Elynuik. In 22 career playoff games, he has six goals and 13 assists for 19 points.

2019-20 Spokane Chiefs Team Awards

Player of the Year: Adam Beckman

Players’ Player: Eli Zummack

Co-Defenseman of the Year & Most Sportsmanlike Player: Filip Kral

Co-Defenseman of the Year: Ty Smith

Rookie of the Year: Bear Hughes

Humanitarian of the Year: Noah King

Scholastic Player of the Year: Reed Jacobson

More News
WHL Podcast: Episode 26 – Trent Miner, Marc Lajoie & Graham Sward
11 hours ago
Sward Earns 'C' Rating in NHL Central Scouting's January Players to Watch
2 days ago
WHL statement on Kamloops Blazers forward Kyrell Sopotyk
2 days ago
Former Chiefs defenceman Ty Smith making early impact with Devils
1 week ago
WATCH: Ty Smith scores first career NHL goal
2 weeks ago
Three Former Chiefs on NHL Opening Night Rosters, More on Taxi Squads
2 weeks ago