Franchise Record 33 Former Chiefs Awarded WHL Scholarships

Watch more on Chiefs TV >

Spokane, Wash. — The Spokane Chiefs are proud to announce that a franchise record 33 former players have been awarded WHL Scholarships for the fall and winter semesters of the 2019-20 academic year. They are part of 402 total WHL Scholarships awarded across the league, marking the second-straight year in which over 400 former WHL players utilized their scholarship to access higher education.

The 2019-20 season serves as the 26th year of the WHL Scholarship program. Established on a league-wide basis in 1993-94, over 6,400 WHL Scholarships have been accessed, representing an investment of over $28 million (CAD) by WHL Clubs. This season, WHL Clubs will contribute in excess of $2.8 million (CAD) to the 402 WHL graduates utilizing the WHL Scholarship.

“The WHL and our Clubs are very pleased to see another year in which we can award more than 400 WHL Scholarships to our graduate players, allowing them to pursue post-secondary education,” commented WHL Commissioner Ron Robison. “Each year, we see a remarkable number of graduates accessing their WHL Scholarships. This clearly demonstrates the commitment of WHL Club ownership to not only provide a world-class hockey experience, but also the most comprehensive scholarship available in North America today.”

Administered by the WHL Office, WHL Scholarships are solely funded by the WHL member Clubs. Every player who plays in the WHL is eligible to receive the WHL Scholarship. For every season a player plays in the WHL, they receive a guaranteed, full-year WHL Scholarship including tuition, textbooks and compulsory fees to a post-secondary institution of their choice. The WHL Scholarship is a fully-guaranteed academic scholarship with no requirement to play university hockey to qualify. The WHL graduate can apply the funding to any post-secondary or career-enhancing program of his choice, including trades schools or professional career training programs.

In addition to the WHL Scholarship players receive upon graduation from the WHL, all current WHL players are encouraged to enroll in post-secondary courses and these courses are also fully-funded by the WHL member Clubs. This season, over 196 current players are taking post-secondary courses while playing in the WHL. The financial assistance received for post-secondary studies while playing does not impact on the WHL Scholarship benefits a WHL player is entitled to upon graduating from the League. The WHL and Athabasca University have partnered to offer, through an online distance education platform, fully-accredited university courses to any WHL player interested in further pursuing post-secondary studies while playing in the WHL. This year, over 72 current WHL players have taken courses through Athabasca University.

Of the 33 former Chiefs taking advantage of their WHL Scholarship, 22 have continued their playing careers at the Canadian university level. The University of Saskatchewan leads with six former Chiefs enrolled, followed by the University of Alberta with five.

Former Chiefs Awarded WHL Scholarships

(** currently playing hockey at the Canadian university level)

University of Alberta (Edmonton, AB)

  • G Matt Berlin**
  • F Zach Fischer
  • D Dalton Hamaliuk**
  • F Curtis Miske**
  • F Luc Smith**

University of British Columbia (Vancouver, BC)

  • F Tanner Wishnowski

University of Calgary (Calgary, AB)

  • F Luke Harrison**
  • D Jordan Henderson**
  • G Jayden Sittler

University of Lethbridge (Lethbridge, AB)

  • D Jeff Rayman**

University of Manitoba (Winnipeg, MB)

  • F Cedric Chenier
  • G Lasse Petersen

Mount Royal University (Calgary, AB)

  • F Connor Chartier**
  • D Tyson Helgesen**
  • F Mitchell Lipon**

University of Regina (Regina, SK)

  • D Tyler King**

University of Saskatchewan (Saskatoon, SK)

  • D Jeff Faith**
  • D Evan Fiala**
  • G Declan Hobbs**
  • F Wyatt Johnson**
  • D Nolan Reid
  • F Wyatt Sloboshan

Carleton University (Ottawa, ON)

  • F Rykr Cole**
  • D Matt Sozanski**

McGill University (Montreal, ON)

  • F Keanu Yamamoto**

University of Prince Edward Island (Charlottetown, PEI)

  • F Riley Whittingham**

University of Waterloo (Waterloo, ON)

  • F Markson Bechtold**

University of Western Ontario — King’s University College (London, ON)

  • F Kolten Olynek**

University of Windsor (Windsor, ON)

  • F Marcus Messier

York University (Toronto, ON)

  • F Alex Mowbray**

Red Deer College (Red Deer, AB)

  • G Dawson Weatherill

Sask Polytechnic (Saskatoon, SK)

  • F Jacob Cardiff

Western Illinois University (Macomb, IL)

  • D Jake Toporowski

CLICK HERE for a detailed list of all WHL Scholarship recipients for the 2019-20 academic season.

More News
WHL Podcast: Episode 26 – Trent Miner, Marc Lajoie & Graham Sward
13 hours ago
Sward Earns 'C' Rating in NHL Central Scouting's January Players to Watch
3 days ago
WHL statement on Kamloops Blazers forward Kyrell Sopotyk
3 days ago
Former Chiefs defenceman Ty Smith making early impact with Devils
1 week ago
WATCH: Ty Smith scores first career NHL goal
2 weeks ago
Three Former Chiefs on NHL Opening Night Rosters, More on Taxi Squads
2 weeks ago